Catching Up with the Yanks

I haven’t watched as many Yankee games as usual lately.  Between the NHL playoffs and my bout with the flu, I was out of the game time loop.  But even I am keenly aware of the Yankees’ struggles and abominable statistics as of late.

And yet, I still believe that the Yankees will come around.  Maybe I’m delusional.  But I’m convinced that their bats have to come back eventually.  I will be the first to admit that Tex has not had the best 2 years of his career here offensively, but his glove is incredible.  I also acknowledge that A-Rod seems to have lost his power and currently can’t be counted on for anything more than the occasional base hit.  So I think we need to take him out of the 4 spot.  Still – with all that being said, last night’s game proves to me that this team wants to win.  They used a an error, a hit-by-pitch and a bunt to load the bases before Jeter’s single and Granderson’s groundout (that drove in the go-ahead run).  It wasn’t a pretty win – but it was a win.  And if this is how we start our ‘comeback’, I’m fine with it.

These guys are professional baseball players.  Many of them were on the team that won the World Series in 2009.  Are they aging?  Yes.  But Derek Jeter and Raul Ibanez (and Andy Pettitte for that matter) have proven to us that age is mostly irrelevant.  This isn’t the first time they’ve gotten off to a bad start.  The bats will come around.  I refuse to accept the notion that this team is subpar.

The pitching continues to be inconsistent but there are positives to pull from the last few weeks.  First, Phil Hughes is not a total loss.  Do I maintain that he belongs in the bullpen?  Yes.  But he’s not going there anytime soon.  His ERA in May is 3.55 – which is a significant drop (at one point it was up there around 7).  If he can give us 6 solid innings and hold the opposition to 3 runs or less on a regular basis, I’ll take it.  That may be asking a lot, but I don’t think it’s too much for Hughes.

Second, CC Sabathia is a warm weather pitcher who always gets better as the season progresses.  I have absolutely no concerns about him.  He’s our ace.  Period.

Kuroda is anybody’s guess.  I holding strong to my position on NL pitchers coming to the AL East.  It’s not a good idea.  At least for the Yankees.  Maybe he’ll straighten out, but he’s been unpredictable- even erratic- and he’s getting shelled.

Nova – my guy – has been getting hit hard as well.  His ERA went from somewhere around 3 or 4 in early April up to 6.2 in May and just over the last 7 days he’s up around 7.  I’m crossing my fingers for the kid because I think he has poise under pressure.  And to be honest I haven’t watched enough baseball recently to pinpoint his issue.  Is it velocity? Control? Command? All of the above? I don’t know.  But whatever it is, I’m hoping he gets it together.  Because he’s one of my favorites.

Ultimately the starting rotation needs some work but I will continue to be patient.  Are there issues that need to be dealt with?  Yes.  Are they significant issues?  Yes.  But I’m convinced that the Yankees will figure out a way to address them.  We have the talent. This team just needs time to sort itself out.

About NYSportsChick

A little girl. A lot of sports.
This entry was posted in Yankees and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment