The Long Ball

I had a few (rare) moments of free time tonight, and I stopped by my own blog.  Much to my surprise, it’s been MONTHS since my last post….  Shame. On. Me.

Ironically, in said post I was promising everyone that the poor-playing Yankees would come around.  The bats will wake up, the pitching will fall into place, and all will be right in Yankee universe.

…It feels good to be right.

I know, I know…. As of today we’re coming off 4 tough losses – and today an especially brutal dinger from the A’s in the 12th inning.  Side note: I actually stopped running and walked away from the treadmill tantrum style at the gym when I saw Coco Crisp hit the game-winner…  But I digress.  

Have the Yanks hit a skid?  Yes.  Am I worried?  Of course not.  Only Texas has a better record than the Yanks in all of MLB!!  Oakland is a good team, tied for second place in a division shared with Texas and the Angels.  I’d say they’re doing alright for themselves.  I missed most of the games of this series due to my insane schedule this summer, so I can’t speak to specifics the way I normally would.  However – I am not worried about the Yankees, and you shouldn’t be either.

I know everyone thinks that somehow they’re going to fail because they’ve been relying on home runs to win many of their games.  I disagree.  We have good pitching – not great pitching, but sufficient-for-now pitching.  We have power hitting.  Joba is coming back real soon, and topping out at 98 mph in his minor league games.  And we’ve also got a few gold glove winners on the field.

Am I bummed that Gardner is out for the year?  For sure.  But this is not a running team!  This is a power team.  We hit home runs, and those home runs help us win games.  So am I worried that we rely on the long ball?  Nope.  In fact, I think it’s great.  Do you need to grind out wins sometimes?  Yes.  And I’d like to see it happen.  But in the meantime, I’m fine with letting our bats do the talking.

About NYSportsChick

A little girl. A lot of sports.
This entry was posted in MLB, Yankees and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment