Thanks. But No Thanks.

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been hearing all sorts of chatter about the possibility of the Jets acquiring Peyton Manning in free agency.  One estimate I heard even put the Jets in the top three teams that are most likely to get Manning.
To all this I say – wtf is wrong with you people?  This screams of the Brett Favre debacle from four years ago.  I know we’re in NY.  I know that we don’t have a whole lot of patience.  But Mark Sanchez has taken the Jets to TWO AFC Championship games in his first three years as quarterback, including his rookie year!  He is currently tied (with four other QBs) for the second most post-season victories on the road by a quarterback in NFL history.  He’s still young.  And he’s obviously on the right track.
I admit that this year was rough.  Sanchez looked like a kid who lost his best friend every time he threw an interception or went 3 and out.  Which was – unfortunately – way too often.  But there have been many comparisons to Eli Manning in his early years in NY, and I don’t think they’re unwarranted.  Mark Sanchez has the potential to be an excellent quarterback and to carry this team on his shoulders all the way to the Superbowl.  Now that Schottie is out of the picture it’s time to give the kid a real chance.
A good place to start would be replacing Wayne Hunter.  A fast DE and/or WR wouldn’t hurt either, especially since Burress has made no secret of the fact that he’s done with the Jets.  But for the love of GOD…. please get Hunter off the field.  If I have to watch him give up one more sack, I might start an online petition.
I’m not a Giant hater.  Quite the opposite- I cheer them on because they’re a NY team.  But with all due respect – we don’t need another Manning in NY.  Period.

About NYSportsChick

A little girl. A lot of sports.
This entry was posted in Giants, Jets, NFL. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment