Tebow Time? Really?

Everyone seems to have an opinion on this guy and the situation, so I would be remiss if I didn’t put my thoughts out there as well.

Back in mid-February we were in the middle of the “Will we get Peyton Manning” talk, and I posted a blog in which I stated that NO – I do not want Peyton Manning.  I thought the entire thing stunk of the Brett Favre debacle of 2008.  I proclaimed my loyalty to Mark Sanchez and I implored my readers to fall in line with me in supporting Mark Sanchez and giving him one more year, one more chance.  The Jets had the opportunity to shore up the O-line, sign a WR and a speedy DE – all things that would help support ‘our’ QB.

Much to my delight, Peyton Manning had no interest in Gang Green.  We finally had the chance to focus on making crucial moves- and with Sanchez’ contract extension (A.K.A. restructuring) it appeared the Jets were all-in on Sanchez, prepping to recruit some much needed support on the field.

Fast-forward to today.  At this time tomorrow, Tim Tebow will officially be the co-quarterback of the NYJ.

What the hell did I miss???

Here’s the thing – I like Tebow.  A lot.  And it’s not just because he’s a good-looking guy who mirrors the values of Clark Kent (I half expected the guy start talking about truth, justice and the American way during his recent teleconference).  It’s because I like his style.  I like his gritty on-field persona.  I like that he doesn’t lose his determination and he keeps his poise in any situation.  And I like that even though it seems like the world is against the guy sometimes, he doesn’t even blink.  There is no chatter about Tim Tebow’s ‘feelings’.

But did I want him for the Jets?  Simply put – no.

I’m going to echo my earlier sentiments.  Mark Sanchez has taken the Jets to TWO AFC Championship games in his first three years as quarterback, including his rookie year!  He is currently tied (with four other QBs) for the second most post-season victories on the road by a quarterback in NFL history.  And he’s still young.  Do I wish he would toughen up a bit, and stop making me want to rabbit punch him every time he puts on the puppy face after a pick?  Yes.  But I think he deserves the opportunity to do just that before we bring in Mr. Wonderful.

Alas, it is too late for this talk – Tebow is here, and the city (and everyone else) is responding with attention suitable for a Hall of Fame quarterback such as Peyton Manning himself.  Don’t even get me started on the sandwich they named after him at the Carnegie Deli.  Patently ridiculous.

So what now?  Well, Jets fans, it doesn’t look like we have much of a choice.  I’m going to suck it up and support my quarterback(s).  I’m going to cheer for him (them).  And I’m going to hope that Mr. T and company have some mind-blowing plan for bringing in Tebow that will blow us all away during the season and bring us to the Superbowl.  Deep down, I’m not really going to believe it.  But I’m going to tell myself that I do.

And on game day, I’m going to wear my Sanchez jersey.

About NYSportsChick

A little girl. A lot of sports.
This entry was posted in Jets, NFL, Yankees and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tebow Time? Really?

  1. I think the Tebow sandwich is the most disheartening development so far in this marriage.

  2. David White says:

    Sanchize will slowly underperform increasing the call for Tebow Tebow Tebow, By mid season Tebow will take over and Jets will end up 8 and 8 no play offs. Ongoing QB controversy for J – E-T-S GMEN winning

  3. Kevin says:

    Great work! While I am still dumbfounded by the trade itself we have to deal with it as a reality and hope that it works out. I really hope to see Tebow used in special packages maybe playing some TE and HB. My biggest concern is that we become too predictable with using the wild cat as it doesn’t seem to be nearly as an effective offensive schemes as it once was when it burst onto the scene a few years ago. Lets go Jets!!!

  4. Thanks for the input everyone. And Kevin – I agree. I feel like everyone already has a copy of the playbook as far as the wildcat is concerned. I guess we’ll see. Let’s go Jets!!

Leave a comment